The Abacus NW Maths Hub has established a Strategic Board to ensure that it demonstrates transparency and is open to external scrutiny regarding its work. It also allows the Maths Hub to draw upon strategic advice and support from people with relevant specialist expertise and local knowledge.

The majority of our Strategic Board Members (including the Chair) are independent of our lead institutions. You can find a list of our members below.


Gaynor Bahan

NCETM Regional Lead for Lancashire and West Yorkshire


Nigel Ranson

Headteacher, Our Lady’s Catholic High School


Nick Burnham

Principal, Cardinal Newman College


Alison Scott

Lead Practitioner and ATL Mathematics, Dowdales School


Lynsey Norris

Senior Teaching and Learning Consultant (Primary Mathematics), Lancashire County Council


Helen Monaghan

Secondary Mathematics Consultant, Lancashire County Council


Angela Holdsworth

CEO, The View Trust


Debbie Hooton

Primary Mathematics Subject Lead, Edge Hill University


Kerrie Norman

Director, Flinders Chase


Simon Cox

Director, Blackpool Research School

Jonathan Longstaffe

Priority Area Lead, AMSP

Des Callaghan

Chief Executive Officer, Romero Catholic Academy Trust

Peter Ashworth

Chief Executive, Cidari MAT

Claire Woodsford

Blackpool Council

Paul Duckworth (Chair)

Head of School Improvement, DBE Services

Donna McNicoll

Headteacher, St Mary's Roman Catholic Primary School (Haslingden)

Katie O'Reilly

Maths Hub Senior Leadership Link


Kathryn McGregor

Maths Hub Lead

Holly Quillin

Maths Hub Project Coordinator

Georgia Wilde

Maths Hub Administrator